MWC 2007 Football Awards

Offensive Player of the Year:
Chad Hall, Sr., RB/WR, Air Force
Defensive Player of the Year:
Beau Bell, Sr., LB, UNLV
Special Teams Player of the Year:
Louie Sakoda, Jr., PK/P, Utah
Freshman of the Year:
Harvey Unga, RB, BYU
Coach of the Year:
Troy Calhoun, Air Force

2007 Mountain West Conference Postseason Football Honors
Position Player Class School
QB Max Hall So. BYU
WR Travis Brown* Sr. New Mexico
WR Marcus Smith Sr. New Mexico
RB Chad Hall Sr. Air Force
RB Rodney Ferguson* Jr. New Mexico
TE Dennis Pitta So. BYU
OL Blaine Guenther Sr. Air Force
OL Ray Feinga Jr. BYU
OL Dallas Reynolds Jr. BYU
OL Devin Clark Sr. New Mexico
OL Vince Natali Sr. New Mexico
PK John Sullivan Sr. New Mexico
PR/KR Brian Bonner* Sr. TCU
DL Jan Jorgensen So. BYU
DL Tyler Donaldson Sr. New Mexico
DL Chase Ortiz** Sr. TCU
DL Martail Burnett Sr. Utah
LB Jon Rabold Sr. Air Force
LB Bryan Kehl Sr. BYU
LB Beau Bell Sr. UNLV
DB Carson Bird Sr. Air Force
DB DeAndre Wright Jr. New Mexico
DB Steve Tate Sr. Utah
DB Julius Stinson Sr. Wyoming
P Louie Sakoda Jr. Utah
*–Two-Time First-Team Selection
**–Three-Time First-Team Selection
QB Kevin O’Connell Sr. San Diego State
WR Austin Collie So. BYU
WR Brett Swain Sr. San Diego State
RB Harvey Unga Fr. BYU
RB Darrell Mack Jr. Utah
TE Wade Betschart Sr. Wyoming
OL Nick Charles So. Air Force
OL Nick Allotta Sr. Colorado State
OL Blake Schlueter Jr. TCU
OL Zane Beadles So. Utah
OL Robert Conley Jr. Utah
PK Louie Sakoda Jr. Utah
PR/KR Derrek Richards Sr. Utah
DL Jesse Nading Sr. Colorado State
DL Michael Tuohy Sr. New Mexico
DL Gabe Long Sr. Utah
DL John Fletcher So. Wyoming
LB Drew Fowler Sr. Air Force
LB Kelly Poppinga Sr. BYU
LB Jason Phillips Jr. TCU
DB Stephen Hodge Jr. TCU
DB David Roach Sr. TCU
DB Mil’Von James Sr. UNLV
DB Brice McCain Jr. Utah
P Michael Hughes Sr. San Diego State
Air Force: Shaun Carney, Sr., QB; Travis Dekker, Jr., TE; Ryan Kemp, Jr., DL; Chris Thomas, So., DB.
BYU: Austin Collie, So., KR; Quinn Gooch, Sr., DB.
Colorado State: Jeff Horinek, Jr., LB; Gartrell Johnson, Jr., RB; Jimmie Kaylor, Sr., P; Damon Morton, Sr., WR; Eric Sandie, Sr., DL; LB; Darryl Williams, Sr., DB.
New Mexico: Glover Quin, Jr., DB; Jordan Scott, Sr., P; O.J. Swift, Sr., DB.
San Diego State: Russell Allen, Jr., LB; Ray Bass, Sr., DB; Mike Kravtez, Sr., OL; Nick Osborn, Sr., DL; Will Robinson, Sr., OL.
TCU: Robert Henson, Jr., LB; Chris Manfredini, Sr., PK; Marshall Newhouse, So., OL; Rafael Priest, So., DB; Derek Wash, Sr., P.
UNLV: Matt Murphy, Fr., OL; Frank Summers, Jr., RB; Ryan Wolfe, So., WR.
Utah: Robert Johnson, So., DB; Paul Kruger, Fr., DL; Derrek Richards, Sr., WR; Stevenson Sylvester, So., LB.
Wyoming: Ward Dobbs, Jr., LB; Kyle Howard, Jr., OL; Mitch Unrein, So., DL; Billy Vinnedge, Sr., P.

The few surprises I see are that 6 New Mexico players make the first team offense, and that BYU’s Harvey Unga did not make first team over Rodney Ferguson who is a good player but Unga in my opinion was a more versatile back. Oh and my only other complaint is that The Mtn. which decided to have its own show for presenting the awards (which I like) but showing it at 2PM? That was crazy because first off all who will really see this on a Tuesday, the only reason this was done is so that talk radio can talk about the awards during the day.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: